Rave Slang

  • cheesy quaver  – a derogatory reference to the hardcore set, cheesy quaver raver was used to describe the legion of boys and girls who turned up to hardcore raves wearing boiler suits, white gloves and gas and paint masks, carrying florescent glow sticks causing havoc with air horns and throwning them selves around the crowds in a cheesy manner.
  • phat – massive, hot, an amazing event is phat for example.
  • Da Bomb! – Used as a reference of how something was really cool. I.e. “That last episode of Friends was da bomb!”
  •  As If! – Made trendy by the popular 90’s movie Clueless, this term was used to show extraordinary disbelief and a lack of interest. I.e. “He wants me to go out with him… as if!”
  • Whatever! – Another Clueless creation, this word was used when showing an extreme lack of interest and a way to end a conversation. I.e. “I don’t want to talk about this anymore, okay… whatever!”
  •  Tight – This slang word was used to show how great something was. I.e. “That new movie was tight, man!”
  • Trippin’ – Used as a way to show that someone was overly critical or crazy. I.e. “Man, she was straight trippin’.”
  • Yadda, Yadda, Yadda – Made popular by the TV show Seinfeld, the term was used to make a long story short. I.e. “We went on that one date last Friday and yadda, yadda, yadda… I never heard from him again.”
  •  Aiiight – Used to show that something was OK or cool. “That aiiight, we’re good.”
  •  Boo Ya! – Used as a way to show excite when you’ve done something awesome. I.e. “I just got a new job… Boo ya!”
  • Chillin’ – This slang word was used when referring to taking it easy or that you were fine. I.e. “I’m just sitting by the pool just chillin’, man.
  •  Dope – Used to say that something was great or interesting. “Those Keds are dope, man!”
  • Fly – Meaning that something was cool, good, fun, etc. I.e. “That episode of In Living Color was fly, yo!”
  •  Yo! – A way to say hello. “Johnny, yo!”
  •  My Bad – This slang term was used to show guilt, an error on your part, etc. “Awe man, was that your sandwich… my bad!”
  • Whoop, There It Is – Used to show that something was there even when other weren’t aware of it or to show accomplishment of a task done. I.e. “Just did my homework for the weekend, whoop, there it is!”
  • Diss – To show a lack of respect for something or someone. “Did you just diss my sister, man?”
Leave a Reply

